Is it possible to be chronically depressed and optimistic at the same time?

Is it possible to be chronically depressed and optimistic at the same time?

A couple of months ago I came across an article in Elite Daily about people who tend to run late and one common feature was that they were optimists. I am one of those people and I tend to run around 5 minutes late for most of my appointments. I can remember being late for school in fifth grade and having to sprint to school most days. A positive byproduct of this was I won a number of awards in track and field. Despite the lack of awards for most of my life this pattern continues and for some reason it is hard to break. read more

 

2 Replies to “Is it possible to be chronically depressed and optimistic at the same time?”

  1. Oh my goodness!! I was wondering the exact same thing– whether I could be an optimist even with dysthymia. I actually do procrastinate on everything (I’m supposed to be doing hw right now) because I have the (delusional) idea that everything will be OK and it’ll all work out in the end. This seems to make so much sense with this article. Thank you!

  2. There is so much negativity about a diagnosis of Dysthymia in comparison to Bipolar so it made me feel a little better, as well, to read that I might be an optimist. It also made me question whether the diagnosis is accurate in my case. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

